Collaboration front and centre at DMTC Annual Conference

In February, DMTC returned to Canberra for its 2024 Annual Conference.

Bringing together individuals from across the defence innovation and science & technology ecosystems, the aim of this year’s Annual Conference was to highlight significant advancements in Australia’s sovereign industrial capability while celebrating the collaborative efforts of individuals, teams and partners from across DMTC’s diverse portfolio of programs and projects.

The Conference also served as a forum for broader strategic discussions, including reflections on the implications of the Defence Strategic Review and associated initiatives, how stakeholders can best manage this period of transition and uncertainty, and overcoming the practical hurdles confronting the defence sector in delivering asymmetric capability.

Keynote speakers such as Professor Tanya Monro AC (Chief Defence Scientist – Department of Defence), Air Vice-Marshal Graham Edwards, AM, CSC (Head Aerospace Systems Division – CASG),  Ivan Power (CEO – National Reconstruction Fund Corporation), Brigadier Isaac Seidl (Deputy Surgeon General – ADF), Suzi Hewlett (Strategic Advisor – Manufacturing Industry Skills Alliance), Adam Reid (CEO – Department of Industry, Innovation and Science – South Australian Government), Dr Todd Mansell (Head Technical – Australian Submarine Agency), Major General Jason Blain, DSC, AM, CSC (Head Land Systems Division – CASG) and others provided important insights into these topics of discussion. Deep dives into the progress of DMTC programs and projects rounded out the first day of the Conference.

Air Vice-Marshal Graham Edwards, AM, CSC delivered a keynote address on the first morning of DMTC’s 2024 Annual Conference.

In what is always a highlight of the event, the Conference’s Gala Dinner and accompanying Awards of Excellence provided attendees with an opportunity to network and celebrate outstanding achievements across the DMTC community. The dinner featured timely insights courtesy of Colonel Jennifer Harris CSC, who joined Master of Ceremonies Alex Sloan AM for a conversation about change leadership, collaboration and fostering high performing teams.

Colonel Jennifer Harris, CSC joined Master of Ceremonies Alex Sloan AM for a conversation about change leadership, collaboration and fostering high performing teams.

The second day commenced with a tribute to DMTC stalwarts, Dr Leigh Farrell and Professor Martin Veidt, who stepped back from their positions in the Company in late 2023, and whose immense contributions to both technical outcomes and teams within DMTC will be greatly missed. This was followed by a showcase session featuring early career researchers and DMTC-supported students, demonstrating DMTC’s commitment to developing the pipeline of diverse STEM-talent endeavouring to meet the science and technology challenges of the future.

The Conference concluded with two panel sessions focusing on perspectives concerning AUKUS, the roll-out of the Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator (ASCA), enablers and key ingredients of success in collaboration, and novel approaches to capability development, contracting and procurement to generate partnerships and deliver speed to capability. The first session featured Professor Emily Hilder (Head – ASCA), Alice Nason (Research Associate – United States Studies Centre, University of Sydney) and Dr Mark Hodge (CEO – DMTC). The second featured Mike Teece (Director of Research – Science & Technology Australia), Jane O’Dwyer (Chief Executive Officer – Cooperative Research Australia) and Deepak Ganga (Head of Program Management – DMTC).

Left to right: Alice Nason, Dr Mark Hodge and Professor Emily Hilder contributed their perspectives on AUKUS, ASCA and enablers for successful collaboration as part of a panel session on the second day of the Conference.

DMTC extends its appreciation to all involved in making the 2024 Annual Conference a resounding success.

Award for Excellence Recipients (read more)

Project Leadership Award – Zoe Kristall, Planet Innovation

Industry Capability Award – Dr Alessandro Carcione, University of Queensland

Research Capability Award – Ashley Bell & Daniel Fosdike, BAE Systems Maritime Australia

Early Career Award – Joanne Allard, Defence Science and Technology Group

SoldierOn Award – Dr Karren Plain, NSW Government/Australian Rickettsial Reference Laboratory

Capability Improvement Award – Project 7.114: Nano Protective Adsorbent Composite (NPAC) Technology

Collaboration (MVP) Award – Dr Anne Collins, Sementis Ltd

Joanne Allard was awarded the DMTC Early Career Award for Excellence for her significant contribution to a collaborative project between DSTG, the University of Queensland and DMTC to develop a cost effective, broad spectrum, medical countermeasure that has potential to deliver significant global breakthroughs in the combating of deadly nerve agents. Joanne also gave a presentation on her research as part of the Student Showcase session at the Conference, highlighting DMTC’s ongoing support for PhD, postgrad and undergraduate students.

Posted by Patrick Crosling on February 28th, 2024 Tagged: , , , ,